Having served Greater New Orleans since 1938 with a mission to assist underserved communities in securing economic self-reliance, parity, power, and civil rights, the Urban League expanded to a statewide entity in 2016, becoming the Urban League of Louisiana (ULLA). That expansion began in East Baton Rouge Parish and plans to continue throughout the state.

Even after 80 years,  the organization is still relevant in its mission of focusing programs to ensure quality education and access to information, employment, entrepreneurial and economic inclusion opportunities, and shared dignity under the law. ULLA provides services to citizens through programs housed in three essential Centers of Excellence, which take a holistic approach to addressing issues that concern low to moderate-income families: The Center for Education and Youth Development, the Center for Workforce and Economic Development, and the Center for Policy and Social Justice.

EXECUTIVE TEAM

Judy Reese Morse

President and CEO
jmorse@urbanleaguela.org

Cathy Washington

Executive Vice President
cwashington@urbanleaguela.org

STRATEGIC TEAM

Tyronne Walker

Vice President for Policy, Strategic Partnerships and Development
twalker@urbanleaguela.org

Klassi Duncan

Vice President,  Center for Entrepreneurship & Innovation
kduncan@urbanleaguela.org

Cherie LaCour-Duckworth

Vice President of Workforce Development
cduckworth@urbanleaguela.org

Todd Battiste

Vice President for Education and Youth Development
tbattiste@urbanleaguela.org

Gilma Pavon

Director of Parent Information Center
gpavon@urbanleaguela.org

Belencia Breaux

Director of Urban League Clarence L. Barney Head Start Center
bbreaux@urbanleaguela.org

John Warner Smith

Education Policy Director
jwsmith@urbanleaguela.org

Amber Davis-Prince

Community Engagement Director
adavis-prince@urbanleaguela.org

Terrell Gill

Director of Project Ready
cgill@urbanleaguela.org

Tyrin Truong

John West

Advocacy Director
jwest@urbanleaguela.org

Jonathan Barnes

Director of Communications
jbarnes@urbanleaguela.org

OUR BOARD

ELECTED OFFICERS

Chairman of the Board
Jade Brown-Russell
J.D. Russell Consulting, LLC

Vice Chairman
Ronald Carrere
Liberty Bank and Trust

Treasurer
Dennis McSeveney
Professor Emeritus of Sociology, University of New Orleans

Secretary
Christy Slater
Women’s Foundation of the South

Honorary Members
Norman Francis
Charles Teamer
Flozell Daniels, Jr.

President  & CEO
Judy Reese Morse

DIRECTORS

Leah Brown
Chevron

Dr. Arnel Cosey
Kingsley House

Monique G. Doucette
Ogletree Deakins

John Georges
Georges Enterprises

Shaneika Dabney-Henderson
New Orleans Saints and Pelicans

Nick Harris
Dillard University

Paula Hopkins
PepsiCo

Tyler Litt
New Schools Baton Rouge

Telley Madina
The Madina Group

Kellen Mathews
Adams and Reese

Minh Nguyen
NOLA Prints

 

 

Wynn Radford
BP America

Dorothy “Dottie” Reese
DMM & Associates

Victor Robinson
Victor Robinson CPAs

Jamie Schlottman
New Orleans Healthcare Connections

Tod Smith
WWL-TV

Toya Barnes-Teamer
HCM Strategists

Ricardo Thomas
Thomas-Waddell & Associates

Beth Trotter
First Horizon

Viet Van
Shell Oil

C. Reynold Verret
Xavier University

Kyle Wedberg
GFOA

Sharonda Williams
Loyola University

GET IN TOUCH